OFF-THE WATER WORKOUT

With severe thunderstorms and high winds cancelling this evening’s OC6 practice, I got an early start on my alternative workout for the evening. I’ve been slacking on my interval training and my leg/core work, so this workout was a little combination of both.

My circuit included:

  1. Concept2 Rowing Ergometer: 1 minute
  2. Bodyweight Sissy Squats
  3. Bodyweight Low Back Extensions
  4. Web Hamstring Curls
  5. Web Pikes

 

DCIM108GOPRO

SISSY SQUAT

 

I went through all of the exercises at least four times. Then as I continued, I dropped one exercise per round. So I ended up with 8x the rowing machine, 7x the sissy squats, 6x the low back extensions, 5x the web pikes and 4x the hamstring curls.

As I increase the consistency of these types of workouts, my intention is to add some more (or substitute in) full-body/complex movements.

As I get closer to my end-of-July mountain bike race, I will add in leg and core movements that will help me with that event.

 

DCIM108GOPRO

LOW BACK EXTENSION

 

Once I’ve completed the mountain bike race, I’ll shift my focus to paddling–specifically preparation for the 31-mile Chattajack OC6 race–and movements that will prepare me for that endurance event.

 

 

G0147395.JPG

WEB PIKES

 

Everything I’m doing at this point (specifically) the intervals are designed to help me lose some of the body fat I’ve added over the last six months–leaner and meaner is the goal. Well, that and moving the bike and the boat a little faster.

~ by kipwkoelsch on May 24, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
